The Open-Source Game Development Pipeline

Providing the means and education to create games using free/libre open-source tools.

Third Time’s a Charm

Leave a comment

Well, here we are… three years and still going. Who’d have thought, eh? πŸ˜‰

It’s been one heck of a journey, and I’ve certainly changed along the way. I now embrace GNU/Linux more fully than I have in the past, thanks in part to trying out a whole bunch of operating systems over the last few years. I now understand which languages I need to focus on ( C ) in order to make my code accessible to the world, and I’m actively trying to make a mark in the domain of free hardware as well. πŸ™‚

On that note, I submitted a presentation to this year’s ORConf which was accepted, so I’ve been spending my time writing a parallelized software renderer in C. I’m also currently writing a COLLADA loader in C as well, and I intend to write an article about it in order to demystify the process for newcomers. An additional benefit is that people will be able port this code to other languages without too much difficulty (and/or they can throw some bindings on top of the C code I’ve written).

Here’s to another wonderful year! πŸ™‚

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

