The Open-Source Game Development Pipeline

Providing the means and education to create games using free/libre open-source tools.

Things to Look Forward To: 2016

Leave a comment

Hey hey hey!

So, after a nice holiday (and taking care of some personal business), I’ve figured out what I’d like to get done for this year:

  1. I’ve returned back to my “from scratch” game engine, and, now that Apple has open-sourced their Swift programming language, I’d like to figure out how to create C-bindings for my C++ components. The reason for doing so is so that they can be brought into Swift natively at that point. Should this experiment work, I’m going to write some articles describing this process for the benefit of the community.
  2. I want to learn more about Verilog and start implementing a RISC-V based, highly-parallelized GPU onto an FPGA. There are already plenty of individuals/groups out there trying to create various CPU implementations that utilize the RISC-V open-source ISA. Creating an open GPU would add some modular dynamics to the RISC-V landscape and allow people to integrate my GPU with their CPU, regardless of its design.

I hope all of you reading this have had a great holiday! Thanks for your continued support.

Cheers! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

