The Open-Source Game Development Pipeline

Providing the means and education to create games using free/libre open-source tools.

Update: 8-18-15

Leave a comment

Hello!

I’ve recently finished the implementation of my 3D Audio framework, which has been built on top of OpenAL. You can perform two-dimensional and three-dimensional audio tasks with relative ease.

I’m currently looking into creating a Networking solution for my framework at the moment. My plan is to utilize BSD sockets, and for this portion of the framework to be client-side only. There are numerous server-side solutions available, so there’s no need to add another wheel to the tire yard.

I know that part of the purpose of this blog is to educate readers about game development, and not simply write about getting a decent computer (and what software to put on it). I apologize for how long it’s taken me to write a tutorial about the subject. One of the reasons I’m making this framework is to create an easy-yet-comprehensive environment for aspiring game developers; so they can iterate quickly while still becoming educated about languages, patterns, and algorithms. At the end of the day, game development is just another form of software engineering.

As for the tools, I’ll endeavor to find suitable sources to whet your appetite in the meantime. Something like Linux MultiMedia Studio will require a comprehensive introduction in order to guarantee that a wide audience will begin to understand the application (Blender as well). I personally don’t think there’s much of a learning curve… but you never know.

In more familiar news :P, I bought a budget computer for under $400.00 USD that hits all of the bullet-points in my criteria! I’ll post a link to it in my next budget computer update.

Until next time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

