The Open-Source Game Development Pipeline

Providing the means and education to create games using free/libre open-source tools.

Update: 1-9-15

Leave a comment

Happy New Year!

I just wanted to give an update on what I’m currently working on:

I’ve almost finished building the fundamental Drawing portion of my game development framework. This means having a simple interface for loading models, placing 3D cameras, and whatever else is necessary to display elements on screen.

Once I’ve finished the Drawing portion, I will move on to Audio and Physics respectively.

I’ve chosen to get the Drawing portion out of the way (even though I have a ton more personal experience with Audio) because of how intimidated I am by it! I’ve always been overwhelmed by things like OpenGL & DirectX, due to how cumbersome graphics programming is. That’s why I’m grateful for open-source renderers like Irrlicht! 🙂

I will continue to keep all of you updated as I move forward.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

