The Open-Source Game Development Pipeline

Providing the means and education to create games using free/libre open-source tools.

Update: 10-15-14

Leave a comment

Aloha!

I’ve started development on the engine. So far, I’ve abstracted the input interface and am currently testing it inside a program I wrote. Right now, the application simply displays an arrow which can be moved around the screen via a gamepad’s analog stick. I’m proud of myself because, with the proper abstractions, my “main” file is just two lines of code! 🙂

Speaking of which, that will probably be the topic of my next article: “Design Patterns”!

After browsing the internet briefly this morning, I noticed that some other commercial engines support “Linux Development”, but aren’t open-source, or free. In particular, a company that makes one of them has partnered with Canonical (*growl*) and their engine is offered for $199.00 on the Ubuntu software center. That makes me a sad panda. 😦

Don’t get me wrong; it’s okay to make money. My philosophy has been, though, that “the tools need to be free”. Go ahead and charge for a product, but if that product is a tool, and is fundamental for creating/learning something, you will help humanity by making it accessible to as many people as possible. This way, more people can spend their time learning and creating instead of missing out! 🙂

Well, that’s enough of my soapbox spiel. See you next time!

Leave a Reply

