The Open-Source Game Development Pipeline

Providing the means and education to create games using free/libre open-source tools.

Update: 8-17-14

Leave a comment

Hello!

I’m currently working on creating the game engine, which means abstracting Irrlicht 1.8.1, Bullet 2.82, and cAudio 2.3.0 into an interface that will make it easy for game developers to utilize. My goal is to make the interface comparable to XNA (Microsoft’s improvement over its C# Managed Direct X wrapper), which I found (during the time it existed) to be very user friendly.

I encourage readers to still become familiar with Blender, GIMP, LMMS, and Qtractor as I continue to develop the engine. I haven’t decided if I’m going to GPL the engine (so that it could be improved upon by others, while keeping the changes available to the community) or keep it zlib licensed, just like the components that comprise it.

Here’s a link to a basic Blender tutorial to get you up and running:

Part. 1

Part. 2

That should hopefully be enough to get you thinking about bones, materials, polygons, and other 3D animation basics. Some additional homework would be to figure out how to get the gingerbread man to look just as good during the render, but utilizing as few polygons as possible. The reason for this, is that the fewer vertices your CPU/GPU needs to process, the faster your game will draw/run. It’s a good idea to get into the habit of conserving as many system resources as possible.

I haven’t gotten around to the audio tutorials yet, and I apologize. I’ll scour the net for ones that I think are suitable enough to get you started. If not, at some point I’ll finagle one or two together.

Since I’m confident that the people reading this have used Photoshop (or something like it) at some point in their lives, I don’t know if I’m going to create tutorials for GIMP. But, I believe their website already contains several.

As always, I will continue to keep you updated as I make progress.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

