The Open-Source Game Development Pipeline

Providing the means and education to create games using free/libre open-source tools.

More Hardware Musings

Leave a comment

Hello!

So, I’m still working on my game, and while trying to optimize my laptop for future Linux gaming sessions, I noticed that my computer has always defaulted to using the Intel integrated graphics mode.

Apparently, even if you have a discrete GPU installed (in my case, a Nvidia GT 745M), Nvidia’s “Optimus” technology doesn’t play well inside the Linux ecosystem. đŸ˜¦

This is both good and bad. It’s bad, because I’d like to get as much horsepower as possible from my machine. It’s good (and probably a blessing in disguise) because now I can design a game that I know has been optimized for integrated graphics chipsets.

I don’t know if people reading this have had the same issue, but it’s leading me to think that when I buy my next laptop I’m going to stick with one with a good integrated graphics card (currently “Iris Pro Graphics” for Intel, and anything “Kaveri” for AMD). Keep your eyes out for laptops containing either one if you’re in the market.

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

